Author Topic: NiGhts help required.  (Read 6669 times)

suppertime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
NiGhts help required.
« on: August 24, 2007, 07:03:36 AM »
I'm running the XP Yabause... how do I get NiGhts running?


Two things:

1. System boots fine, runs until after it says sega then it black screens :'(
2. Whenever I boot yabause it says "Yabause 0.8.0" even though I just installed 0.8.6

scorpion25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ttk.forumup.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2007, 07:15:12 AM »
Whenever I boot yabause it says "Yabause 0.8.0" even though I just installed 0.8.6

Hmmm that seems to be a problem where did you download yabause from?

Benjamin Siskoo

  • Scoobies
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
    • http://www.emu-compatibility.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2007, 10:11:03 AM »
1. Remove all stuff about Yabause.
2. Download Yabause 0.8.6 on http://yabause.org/download/
3. Config and try again ^^

suppertime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2007, 08:20:39 PM »
@ Scorpion25: Well considering I've ONLY downloaded 0.8.6 from yabause.org I don't see how I could have screwed that up

@ Ben: Well all THAT changed was the title bar it now reads "Yabause 0.8.6," I'm still plagued by the black screen of death :(

scorpion25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ttk.forumup.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2007, 08:46:46 PM »
what version of nights are you running the US,Jap,Euro?

suppertime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2007, 04:16:12 AM »
US I checked to make sure it was working

Cobra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cobrablade.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2007, 05:28:27 AM »
I've got a whole pile of games to go though right next to me, NiGHTS is one of them, so I'll get back to you once i get to that one once I see if my results differ at all.

Thanks for your patience.

Cobra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cobrablade.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2007, 06:27:51 AM »
I just tired it, but it freezes after the Sonic Team logo, so no luck, sorry.

Guillaume

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
    • View Profile
    • ./confiture && cake
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2007, 09:48:07 AM »
Nights used to be working, at least it was working enough to let you go ingame and see the massive graphical bugs :) I may check it...

antime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2007, 09:53:19 AM »
Try pressing start to skip the intro movie. The movie player is very timing-dependent and will have trouble even on a real Saturn using the opposite video frequency. If you do that the game will start fine, but as noted in the other Nights thread it is almost unplayable because a background effects layer is displayed on top of the other graphics. It's a pretty trippy effect, kind of what the game might have looked like if Jeff Minter made it.

Benjamin Siskoo

  • Scoobies
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
    • http://www.emu-compatibility.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2007, 11:47:07 AM »

Cobra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cobrablade.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2007, 11:55:21 AM »
Hey that ingame shot looks tripy. I may just have to play it to see that effect in action alone.

When I get a chance to, I'll have to load up my PAL copy again and see how that trick goes. Also in the PAL version the Sonic Team movie if offside, way off with just some of it appearing in from the left of the screen.

scorpion25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ttk.forumup.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2007, 03:09:00 PM »
the Sonic Team movie if offside, way off with just some of it appearing in from the left of the screen.

Yeah the Capcom logo on Street fighter zero 2 does that as well. I had this game working not to long ago but it was an eye sore the rgb is what it is I believe. I'm still sitting here trying to figure out why dracula x works every once in a while :(

suppertime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2007, 10:10:43 PM »
When do I try to skip the black screen? Right after SEGA or what?

Cobra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cobrablade.com
NiGhts help required.
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2007, 10:50:10 PM »
Please be sure that

1.) You are using the latest version of Yabause

2.) If using an original game, have Yabause set to run CD Roms, not ISOs

3.) If using a backup such as a ISO, be sure you have set Yabause to use ISOs instead of the CD drive. Also be sure that it is not a BIN.

4.) If mounting CD images, be sure to set Yabause to CD mode since virtual drives are just that. An imaginary CD drive with imaginary CD inside it.

I would recommend using your actual games, as it's the only sure way, unless you have other means of testing your CD images.