Author Topic: Wii version - Compiling errors  (Read 16952 times)

realbrucest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« on: May 14, 2008, 07:30:55 AM »
Hi, I wanna start giving thanks to Bluecrab and all people working on Yabause.

And now, my "problem". It's about wii makefile included in source.

I use devkitpro ppc. And when I try to compile by "make" it goes several errors, most of them related with 68K libraries.

I've read also one post sugesting to avoid these libraries just for tryng. I've deleted fro makefile and tried again:

linking ... yabause.elf
c:/devkitPro/libogc/lib/wii\libogc.a(ogc_crt0.o): In function `__main':
(.init+0x50): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [yabause.elf] Error 1

These are last lines from output.

Forgive me if I'm asking something silly. I'm quite a noob in this business and just want to try "what is yabause for wii" for the time being.

Once again thanks to all people working and helping.

CyberWarriorX

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyberwarriorx.com
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 07:50:18 AM »
What version of devkitpro are you using? Actually, I'd just like to point out too that the code is still rather experimental at this stage. Eventually we should be using configure to do the build, but I hadn't quite gotten the code to that point yet.

realbrucest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 09:52:11 AM »
I'm using devkitppc r14. Devkit works fine for most of things I've tested.

I guess wii version, as you say, is rather experimental. I was just trying to have a look, but it seems like we still have to wait a bit to see something like bios running, isnt it?

If you want me to try something just ask. I'd be glad to help (if its posible).

CyberWarriorX

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyberwarriorx.com
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 05:39:06 AM »
Ok sounds good. Wait a second, so you tried compiling by just typing "make"? That would explain it.

This is how I compile it currently:
-Go into Devkitpro environment(msys)
-go to yabause's /src directory
-type "make -f makefile.wii"
-Wait until it finishes

That -should- build it. Unless there's more problems yet.

realbrucest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 12:08:08 PM »
Ok, thanks. I'll try it later. (Lunch time in here ;))

Many thanks.

CyberWarriorX

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyberwarriorx.com
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2008, 06:16:44 PM »
Just want to mention that the latest cvs version is now being compiled the latest cvs version of devkitppc. This decision was made since devkitppc R15 looks to be coming soon and it works a whole lot better with yabause than all the hacks and 3rd party source code I had to do to use to get R14 working.

Hopefully this will be the last time this is done.

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2008, 08:56:30 AM »
Hi

I tried a copiled wii version of Yabause yesterday.
The programm it self loads fine

Well so far i could not get it to work for me

Placed the following files in the root of the SD
named it Bios.bin i(Europe Bios V1.0) (tried also US BIOS)
Battle Monsters.cue
Battle Monsters-Pal.iso
Battle Monsters.mp3

Loaded Yabause with Homebrew channel 0.8 (placed in apps\yabause\boot.elf
yabause opens and shows me :

Start emulation (when i selct i get a blank screen)
When i press the power button of the wii i get back to the yabause menu (strange)
Load Iso / Cue (when trying to acess , emulator crashes when i try to often and gives me Exeption (DSI) occured
Settings (nothing happens when i select it )
About (nothing happens when i select it)
Exit (Returns to HBC) works

I tried the same game in Yabause 0.9.5 windows
And it least it shows me the console start up (Sega Saturn Logo) then the screen goes blank . I will try some other isos tonight .

Can someone tell me if i placed the files correct ?

Just placed the Bios.bin and the ISO , Cue in the root of the SD card (without any folders)

PS i load from the front SD ?
Should i rather load it via SD Gecko in Slot A or B ?

Regards

Markus

If you want a compiled binary check out Theskeen forums

http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showthread.php?p=32772#post32772

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2008, 09:10:37 AM »
By the way i forgot to thank all the people that are involed to make a very promissing emulator , and i hope it makes progress soon for the wii.
I would be already happy , if the Start screen with the Saturn logo shows up soon

Keep up the good work , unfortunately i am not a coder , so i am not a great helo , but i can at least do testing on the wii for you guys if that helps

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2008, 07:18:30 PM »
OK i got it working on the wii (partially)

I just found out that i should have put the Bios.bin into the  same folder as the elf. (For HBC users) example :\apps\yabause\bios.bin
For the twillight hack everything goes into the root of the SD

I can't load a iso yet (as nothing happens when you click on it), Just clicked on Start Emulation and it shows the sega saturn logo and goes into the menu like on the Original Saturn , when you start up without a CD .

For me thats already awesome , i see it at this stage as a proof of concept.

PS I loaded from the front SD

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2008, 08:21:57 PM »
OK I had a look at the source code and know why it was not working



If you use homebrew channel

apps\yabause\bios.bin
apps\yabause\boot.elf


Place in the same folder your game (must have a cue and a iso)
rename the cue file to game.cue (your iso and mp3's can keep their original name)


(If you use Tp Hack , put everything in the root without folders)

start homebrew channel
select yabause

In the yabause menu click

"start emulation"

Then you will see the Saturn Logo coming up

And then your game should start (if there is one that is compatible yet)

don't choose "load Iso/Cue" "Settings" "About" !!! they don't work !!!




Tested games :

Battle Monsters Pal      = Crashes the emu (Exeption DSI occured   not playable
Bubble Bobble            = starts the rom till disclaimer , then freezes not playable
Earh worm Jim 2         = starts the rom till disclaimer , then freezes not playable

CyberWarriorX

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyberwarriorx.com
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2008, 11:28:45 PM »
While we're working on the wii port, no support is being given for it while it's in an alpha state. Especially not for builds that weren't even released by us.

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2008, 04:57:25 AM »
Yes i know , just thought that it may help you guys developing  better if i tell you what is working and what not . Did not mean to upset anyone here.

realbrucest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2008, 09:36:12 AM »
here's my first testing:

Batman Forever Arcade (PAL) = loads til disclaimer, then freezes to black screen showing a couple of diagonal yellow lines across it and a green square flickering at the left top.

Anyway, quite cool watching saturn (it started red-pinky) logo loading on my wii.

Markus1981

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2008, 02:22:33 PM »
Just a real stupid question .

I wanted to know if in the latest wii source code (as it supports no settings yet) the framiskipping is on or off ? And which file includes it ? I browsed through the source , but i am still new and willing to learn .

I found that if i use the soft video plugin on windows , and put the frame skip
on it also causes the same video problems as on the wii (tried with bubble bobble) and results in a hang up .

Maybe someone can assist me , i would like to switch the frame skip off  
and recompile it myself to see if it makes a difference

CyberWarriorX

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyberwarriorx.com
Wii version - Compiling errors
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2008, 06:58:45 PM »
There should be a function called EnableAutoFrameSkip in /src/wii/yui.c - Comment it out, and it should be disabled.

Well, normally the bug reports wouldn't be an issue, but there's just so many bugs, most of which we already know about that it's not something that we need to deal with, at least not right now.

That being said, if you want to contribute, feel free :)