Author Topic: A few Linux newbie questions =D  (Read 4300 times)

AgentHoze

• View Profile
A few Linux newbie questions =D
« on: November 06, 2005, 10:14:43 AM »
I'm relatively new to Linux ^_^ so I have a few questions (by the way, I'm using SuSE 9.3 OSS):
1.) After going into the directory and compiling (did "./configure" "make" "make check" then "make install"), how do I run Yabause? The compiling seemed to go fine, didn't have any problems when I put in "make check", yet I can't seem to figure out how to run the program - I tried just entering "yabause" into the shell - that didn't work =\
2.) Once I get it working, will I have to specify the BIOS file with -b every time I run it, or will it remember (or is there a directory I can put it in w/some certain filename that it'll auto-detect?)
3.) If I'm using a CD image, does it have to be an ISO file, or does Yabause have support for BIN & CUE also?

Thanks ^_^ I've done a lot with emulators in the past, but this is my first attempt at working with them in Linux

Guillaume

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ./confiture && cake
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2005, 10:29:08 AM »
1) after ".configure" and "make", there should be a binary file "yabause" in the "src" directory, so change your active directory to "src" and type "./yabause". After "make install", yabause is installed in your system and usually goes in "/usr/local/bin" so you can use "/usr/local/bin/yabause" or add "/usr/local/bin" to your PATH variable.

2) as you're using the CLI, the only way to not specify the bios everytime is to have a file named "jap.rom" in your active directory when you launch yabause. You could try the gtk interface by using "./configure --with-gtk" instead of "./configure" (if you want to do so, you'd better download the last sources from the CVS)

3) There's no support for bin/cue yet.

Good luck :)

AgentHoze

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2005, 10:33:06 AM »